Immanion Press Catalogue
Trade Info
About Us
Immanion Press Bazaar

Subscribe to our mailing list

Immanion on Facebook Immanion on Twitter Immanion on Google+ Immanion on WordPress
Immanion ebooks from Smashwords

Suggested Reading
by Storm Constantine, Andrew Collins

Your cart is empty.


Megalithica Books Catalogue

Venus Burning: Realms

The Collected Short Stories from Realms of Fantasy

by Tanith Lee

“Tanith’s work is lush and rich with beauty, darkness, and sensuality. More than almost anyone else whom I have ever read, Tanith’s work sounds like it was meant to be read aloud, perhaps while huddled around a fire in the dark forest or in the quiet and still air within an ancient temple.”

Jeremy Brett, (Cushing Memorial Library & Archives, Texas A&M University)

Tanith Lee wrote fifteen stories for the acclaimed US genre magazine ‘Realms of Fantasy’, which ran from 1994 to 2009 and was founded and edited by her close friend, Shawna McCarthy. Venus Burning: Realms collects all these stories in one volume for the first time, some of which only ever appeared in the magazine and will therefore be new to some of Tanith’s fans.

The stories in this collection are among her best work, in which Tanith takes myth and fairy tale tropes and turns them on their heads. You might find fantasy swordsmen (Woman in Scarlet), vampires (Israbel), werewolves (Moonblind), dragons (The Children of his Old Age), ghostly dolls (Doll Skulls) and tales reminiscent of the Arabian Nights (I Bring You Forever), but these are nothing like stories of those genres you’ve read before. Lush and lyrical, deep and literary, Tanith Lee created fresh poignant tales from familiar archetypes. This book also includes three previously uncollected stories from her Flat Earth mythos.

“We published fifteen of Tanith Lee’s brilliant works. All of those wonderful, mystical, gorgeous, glorious stories are in this volume, and I’m so glad that Immanion Press is sharing them with new (and old) readers.”

Shawna McCarthy - founder and editor of ‘Realms of Fantasy’

Table of Contents:

Preface by Shawna McCarthy; Beauty, Darkness and Sensuality: The Magic of Tanith Lee’s Writing: An introduction by Jeremy Brett

The Story Told by Smoke (From the Journals of St. Strange); Doll Skulls (a Paradis novelette); Death Loves Me; Old Flame (From the Journals of St. Strange); The Lady-Of-Shalott House; I Bring You Forever; The Woman in Scarlet; The Children of His Old Age; The Man Who Stole the Moon (A Story of the Flat Earth); Moonblind; Israbel; Stalking the Leopard; En Forêt Noire; The Snake (A Story of the Flat Earth); Our Lady of Scarlet (A Story of The Flat Earth)

  Price: £11.99 (GBP)
  Published: 26/04/2018
  Cat. Number: IP0139
  Format: Paperback
  Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5" or 216 x 140mm
  Pages: 296 pp.
  Publisher: Immanion Press
  ISBN: 978-1-907737-88-6
  Editor: Storm Constantine
  Cover Artist: John Kaiine
  Typesetter: Storm Constantine
  Language: English
  GenresDark Fantasy & Horror
Buy Paperback


Back to Catalogue, Books by Tanith Lee

Home   Catalogue   Authors   Submissions   Trade Info   Contact   About Us   Site map  

© 2006 - 2019 - Immanion Press & Storm Constantine.
All works contained on this page are the copyright of the respective owners.